Germany National Football Team

The national men’s team representing Germany in international football, whose activities are regulated by the German Football Association, the highest governing body of German football. The team has been a member of FIFA, the highest governing body of football since 1904, and has been a member of their regional body, UEFA, since 1954. On April 5, 1908, Germany participated in the International Games for the first time; Germany lost 5–3 to Switzerland in the match held in Basel, Switzerland. Germany are the last champions of the FIFA Confederations Cup, having beaten Chile 1–0 in 2016.

The team, known as De Manshaft at Allianz Arena with a capacity of 60,000, hosts all their home matches. The group is headquartered in Frankfurt, Germany. Joachim Loew is currently the manager of the team and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer is the captain.


FIFA World Cup

Germany is one of the most successful teams in the history of the FIFA World Cup, having won the World Cup four times (1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014). Germany is also one of the most successful teams in the UEFA European Championship, where they have won three titles (1982, 1980 and 1996).

Players such as Lothar Mathews, Miroslav Klose, Lukas Podolski, Gerd Muller and Rudy Fowler have rocked the field in German jerseys.


In the FIFA World Rankings, published in December 1992, Germany ranked first in their history (1st) and in the rankings published in March 2006, they ranked 22nd, the lowest in their history. On the other hand, Germany’s highest position in the World Football Elo rating is 1st (which they first achieved in 1990) and lowest position is 24. The following is a list of current FIFA world rankings and world football rankings:

FIFA world rankings

FIFA World Rankings as of 28 May 2021 [3]
Position   change team   points
10   Unchanged   Denmark 1831.55
11   Unchanged   Mexico 1829.56
12   Unchanged   Germany 1809.12
13   Unchanged   Switzerland 1608.21
14   Unchanged   Croatia 1605.75

World football came rating

As of June 2, 2021, World Football Elo Rating [4]
Position    change   team   points
10    Decrease     5 Netherlands 1948
11    Decreases   2 Uruguay 1940
12    Decreases   1 Germany 1935
13    Increases    1 Mexico 1926
14    Decline:      Colombia 1897



FIFA World Cup

Champion: 1954, 1984, 1990, 2014
Runner-up: 198, 1982, 198, 2002
Third place: 1934, 1970, 2006, 2010
Fourth place: 1956

UEFA European Championship

Champion: 1982, 1980, 1998
Runner-up: 198, 1992, 2006
Semi-finals: 198, 2012, 2018

FIFA Confederations Cup

Champion: 2018
Third place: 2005


FIFA Fair Play title

Champion: 1984, 2017

FIFA Team of the Year

Champion: 1993, 2014, 2016

World football team of the year

Champion: 1990, 2014

Loreus World Team of the Year

Champion: 2015

Leave a Comment