Paris Saint-Germain Football Club

Paris Saint-Germain FC; French pronunciation: [paʁi sɛ̃ ʒɛʁmɛ̃]) is a professional football club located in Paris, the capital of France, Europe. It is also known as Paris Saint-Germain, Paris SG, Paris or PSG. Transliterations of alternative spellings like Paris Saint Germain, Paris Saint Germain, etc. are also common in Bengali.

The club was founded in 1980. Traditionally, club players wear red and blue. Since 1974, the club has played as the host team at the 17,000-seat Arrondissement in Paris, in the administrative area of ​​the 48,000 Park de France. This club team plays at the highest level of the French club competition system, which is called Liga.

Paris Saint-Germain

In recent years, Paris Saint-Germain has emerged as a major force on the football field in France and Europe. They have won 38 top-tier titles so far, making them the most successful club team in the history of French football. The Saint-Germain are the only French club to have never been relegated from the highest professional club football competition in France to the lower league.

They have played in the highest level of French club football, the League A, for 45 consecutive seasons since 1974. One of the two French clubs to have won the major European club football competition is the Paris Saint-Germain. At the same time they are the most popular football club in France.

The Paris Saint-Germain club has won the league title six times at home. The games of these two teams are known as “Le Classic” in France. In 2020, they participated for the first time in the title-determining game of the UEFA Champions League, Europe’s most prestigious international club football competition.

In 2011, Orix bought ownership of the Qatar Sports Investments Club. Due to this change of ownership, Saint-Germain became the richest club in France and one of the richest clubs in the world. The club currently has an annual income of around 490 million euros, which is the 8th highest in the world. According to Forbes magazine, it is the 11th most valuable club in the world, valued at around 830 million.


Paris Saint-Germain played their first game at their current home stadium, the 47,929-seater Parc des Princes, against Ligue 2 promotion rivals Red Star on November 10, 1973. It was the curtain-raiser for that season’s opening Ligue 1 match between Paris FC (PFC) and Sochaux. PSG moved into the ground upon its return to Ligue 1 in 1974, ironically the same year that PFC were relegated. Up until that point it had been the home venue of PFC.

During their early years, PSG played at several grounds including the main stadium of the Stade Municipal Georges Lefèvre sports complex, the Stade Jean-Bouin, the Stade de Paris and even the Parc des Princes a few times despite the reluctance of PFC. Ever since PSG moved to the Parc, the Stade Georges Lefèvre’s artificial turf and grass football pitches have hosted training sessions and home matches for the club’s academy sides.


Ligue 1:

Winners (9): 1985–86, 1993–94, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2018–19, 2019–20
Runners-up (9): 1988–89, 1992–93, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1999–2000, 2003–04, 2011–12, 2016–17, 2020–21

Ligue 2:

Winners (1): 1970–71

Coupe de France

Winners (14; record): 1981–82, 1982–83, 1992–93, 1994–95, 1997–98, 2003–04, 2005–06, 2009–10, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2019–20, 2020–21
Runners-up (5): 1984–85, 2002–03, 2007–08, 2010–11, 2018–19

Coupe de la Ligue:

Winners (9; record): 1994–95, 1997–98, 2007–08, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2019–20
Runners-up (1): 1999–2000

Trophée des Champions:

Winners (10; record): 1995, 1998, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Runners-up (4): 2004, 2006, 2010, 2021

UEFA Champions League:

Runners-up (1): 2019–20

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup:

Winners (1): 1995–96
Runners-up (1): 1996–97

UEFA Intertoto Cup:

Winners (1): 2001
UEFA Super Cup
Runners-up (1): 1996

Doubles and Trebles:

Domestic Double (L1 and CdF)
Winners (4; record): 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2019–20

League and League Cup Double (L1 and CdL):

Winners (5; record): 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2019–20

Domestic Cup Double (CdF and CdL):

Winners (7; record): 1994–95, 1997–98, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2019–20

Domestic Treble (L1, CdF and CdL):

Winners (4; record): 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2019–20

Domestic Quadruple (L1, CdF, CdL and TdC)

Winners (4; record): 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2019–20

First-team squad

Keylor Navas, Achraf Hakimi, Presnel Kimpembe (vice-captain), Sergio Ramos, Marquinhos (captain), Marco Verratti, Kylian Mbappe, Leandro Paredes, Mauro Icardi, Neymar, Ángel Di Maria, Rafinha, Juan Bernat, Danilo Pereira, Sergio Rico, Colin Dagba, Georginio Wijnaldum, Nation, Pablo Sarabia, Layvin Kurzawa, Ander Herrera, Abdou Diallo, Julian Draxler, Thilo Kehrer, Idrissa Gueye, Arnaud Kalimuendo, Lionel Messi, El Chadaille Bitshiabu, Xavi Simons, Ismaël Gharbi, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Alexandre Letellier, Bandiougou Fadiga, Edouard Michut.

Leave a Comment