Spain national football team,2010 World Cup

Spain national football team

The national men’s team representing Spain in international football, whose activities are regulated by the Royal Spanish Football Federation, the highest governing body of Spanish football. The team has been a member of FIFA, the highest governing body of football since 1904, and has been a member of their regional body, UEFA, since 1954. On August 28, 1920, Spain participated in the International Games for the first time; Spain beat Belgium 1–0 in that match in Brussels, Belgium.

The team, known as La Roha, hosts their home matches in several stadiums. The group is headquartered in Madrid, Spain. Luis Enrique is currently the manager of the team and Sergio Ramos, the Real Madrid defender, is the captain.

Spain is one of the most successful teams in the history of the FIFA World Cup, having won the World Cup 1 time (2010). Spain is also one of the most successful teams in the UEFA European Championship, where they have won three titles (1964, 2008, 2012). Also, Spain’s greatest achievement at the Summer Olympics was winning a gold medal at the 1992 Summer Olympics.

Players such as David Villa, Raul Gonzalez, Iker Casillas, Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta have rocked the field in Spanish jerseys.

                           2010 World Cup

World Cup Football, 2010

On 15 July 2008, Vicente del Bosque replaced Luis Aragones as coach of Spain. Under his leadership, Spain successfully qualified from the UEFA Region Group 5 in the 2010 World Cup qualifiers and topped the table with 6 points. At this stage, they won against three teams – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Armenia and Serbia. Bojan Creek made his debut as an extra player against Serbia. In the next round, the team lost to Estonia and Belgium and reached the final of the FIFA World Cup with a 100 percent victory.

Switzerland beat Spain 1-0 in the World Cup on 16 June. Spain then went on to win the next two games from Group H to reach the knock-out 16 teams. They beat Portugal 1-0 and beat Paraguay 1-0 in the quarter finals. They beat Germany 1-0 in the semi-finals on July 7 to secure the final for the first time in World Cup history. In the extra time of the final game against the Netherlands, the country of total football, Andres Iniesta’s winning goal made him the new champion of the 2010 World Cup.

                            2010 World Cup


In the FIFA World Rankings, published in July 2008, Spain ranked first in their history (1st) and in March 1998, they ranked 25th, the lowest in their history. On the other hand, Spain’s highest position in the World Football Elo rating is 1st (which they first achieved in 1920) and lowest is 19th. The following is a list of current FIFA world rankings and world football rankings:

FIFA world rankings

FIFA World Rankings as of 27 May 2021
Position      change      team      points
4             Unchanged  England   1686.78
5             Unchanged  Portugal   1666.12
6             Unchanged  Spain       1648.13
7             Unchanged  Italy         1642.06
8             Unchanged Argentina  1641.95

World football came rating

As of June 2, 2021, World Football Elo Rating [5]
Position        change         team        points
2                  Decrease1   Belgium     2098
3                 Unchanged   France        2087
4                 Unchanged   Spain         2036
5                 increase 1     Portugal     2034
6                 Increase 2      Italy           2008


FIFA World Cup

Champion: 2010
Fourth place: 1950

UEFA European Championship

Champion: 1964, 2008, 2012
Runner-up: 1984

Summer Olympics

Gold Medal: 1992
Silver medal: 1920, 2000

FIFA Confederations Cup

Runner-up: 2013
Third place: 2009


FIFA Fair Play title
Champion: 2006, 2010, 2013, 2018
FIFA Team of the Year
Champion: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
Prince Asturinus Prize in Sports
Champion: 2010
Loreas is the best team in the world
Champion: 2011

Leave a Comment